Restaurant Review: Bangalore Express

Standard

I heard about Bangalore Express from a colleague. He was heartily recommending it to another colleague who had asked for a good place to eat Indian food. I checked out the menu online and once I spotted they served vegetarian dosas, I knew I had to give them a try. So the next time I was meeting up with friends for dinner in London, I suggested the Waterloo branch.

We got there just before 7pm and had no problems getting a table for two and as it was reasonably quiet, I think four or six people would still have been accommodated. The Waterloo branch has the novelty of ‘bunk tables’ up little ladders, but I was grateful we weren’t offered one of those!

You can’t have an Indian meal without popadums and thee came with mango chutney, beetroot chutney and garlic pickle, which was really nice.

I plumped for the vegetarian dosa and, worried that it might be a little dry and lonely, got the pickled aubergine salad as a side dish. The menu doesn’t say whether there are the traditional dosa accompaniments and my inquiries brought a pitying look from the waitress as she explained that the vegetarian one only had masala mash in it.

As it turned out, I needn’t have worried.
Bangalore Express Dosa
The dosa does indeed come with the usual coconut chutney and sambar. it is also huge, thin, crispy and delicious. The masala mash includes mashed potatoes, lentils, onions and mustard seeds. The coconut chutney is sweet and cooling as the sambar is hot and spicy.

The pickled aubergine salad
Bangalore Express Aubergine Salad
wasn’t what I was expecting. It was warm for a start. It was actually a generous portion of lightly spiced aubergine, all silky smooth and unctuous.

The cost for two of us, including drinks, was £48.

The portion sizes are big. I came nowhere near finishing my dosa and only made the slightest inroad into the aubergine. I hate to say this, but unless you are really hungry, skip the popadums. The mains were served very quickly so you won’t be waiting hungry long.

I can heartily recommend Bangalore Express. There are good veggie options. It’s very tasty food. I can’t wait to go back. But I’m going to ask for a doggy bag next time!

Leave a Reply

