Recipe: Fennel Top Gazpacho

Standard

I’m having another try at a weekly veg box delivery. This week’s surprise was a bulb of fennel that was all top!

Fennel & tops

I couldn’t waste that much veg, so I looked around for recipes to use it.

A quick trawl of my recipe books turned up trumps with St Delia’s Summer Collection. She includes a recipe for fennel gazpacho, but that involves cooking the ingredients and I didn’t want to cook something only to chill it down (and besides, I was hungry!) The basic recipe I found for gazpacho was on Nigella’s website, but doesn’t include fennel, she also includes tinned tomatoes, but I went for some sundried tomato paste to boost the flavour.

Using the green fennel does make the soup come out with a bit of a sludgy look, but it adds a subtle hint of aniseed to the fresh, garlicky summeriness of gazpacho. And just think of how many of your ‘five a day’ a bowl of this provides!

Fennel top gazpacho

So my recipe for Fennel Top Gazpacho.

Ingredients
4 medium tomatoes, chopped
Half a cucumber, chopped
Fennel tops, chopped
2 cloves garlic
3 spring onions, chopped
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp sundried tomato puree
Olive oil
salt & pepper

Method
Put all ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth. I never skin tomatoes (life is too short). I would have peeled the cucumber, but the soup was going to be green enough from the fennel tops, so I didn’t bother this time.

Serve with crusty bread, and maybe a bit of goats cheese crumbled over the top.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

