Recipe: Baked Falafel

Standard

There are some kitchen activities I seem doomed to failure at – long-grain rice and keeping home-made burgers or rissoles together in the frying pan. Falafel falls into that last category. No matter how hot I get the pan for the first sizzle or how careful I am at not poking at them, they always break up in the pan and I end up with falafel mash with a few burnt bits. It’s tasty, but not what I’m after. Then I found the concept of baked falafel while looking for low-fat falafel recipes online. It sounded like a good idea worth trying.

Baked Falafel

Ingredients
1 tin of cooked chickpeas
2 cloves of garlic
1/2 red onion
1 tbsp chopped coriander
1 tbsp chopped parsley
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
1/2 tsp sumac powder (optional – I used it because I didn’t have any lemon juice)
3 tbsp olive oil
salt & pepper

Method
Preheat oven to 180C.
Put ingredients in a food processor and whizz until coarsely smooth.
Form into patties (this amount makes 6).
Put on to a baking sheet.
Bake in oven for 30 minutes, turning each patty over half-way through.

Baking the falafel makes them lighter in colour than frying them and they are a bit dry on the outside. However, the flavour is much better than shop-bought and they’re still moist on the inside. They are a bit delicate though, but at least they made it to the plate in one piece – which is a big improvement for me.

Serve with pitta bread and a nice, juicy salad.

5 responses »

    • I don’t think I’ve ever seen a falafel recipe with egg in to be honest. Maybe that’s why they’ve always fallen apart on me!

  1. Oooh, I love falafel! I am going to try this, even though I am totally hopeless at cooking anyway, and have a damaged left hand/arm…..but will try…..

Leave a Reply

