Recipe: Churros with Chilli Chocolate Sauce

Standard

We have a guest blogger today. Wil Law, who blogs at Ginger Bread Lad, has written us a brilliant and yummy recipe with a great picture.

Hello to all blog followers, I’m Wil also known as the ginger bread lad, a friend of Anthea’s who I met on the Arvon food writing course she blogged about, and I’ve been asked to sweeten up this fantastic blog a little with some dessert recipes.

I’m not actually a vegetarian but some of my family members are and since I’m more interesting in baking, it seems a lot easier to make veggie-friendly dessert recipes (although meat associated products can be cunningly hidden in things).
To kick off I thought I’d do a dessert which could be eaten after Anthea’s recipe for huevos rancheros; churros (try and say that fast). On my own blog I did a toned down, almost English version of this recipe. Here I’m going completely the other way and adding fire in the form of a chilli chocolate sauce (made with the seeds).

Anthea often describes my recipes as ‘dangerous’ or most recently ‘evil’ so I thought I’d play up to this. We all know how dangerously evil, yet undeniably exciting a stray chilli seed can be. You could say I’m kicking off with a kick.

Churros with Chilli

For the Churros
300g plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
a generous knob of melted butter
around 500ml boiling water
1-2 litres oil for frying (I use sunflower)
Around 3tbsp sugar mixed with 1 tsp of cinnamon for coating

For the Chilli Chocolate Sauce
100ml double cream
the seeds of medium one chilli
a knob of butter
2 tspb golden syrup
100g dark chocolate (I use 70% cocoa)

Begin by making the sauce. Gently heat the cream and scrape in the chilli seeds. I quite like to scrape some of the inside flesh of the chilli as well to add specs of colour to the sauce. Allow to infuse, but not boil, for a couple of minutes before adding the butter and golden syrup. Stir in until the butter has melted then break in the chocolate and allow to melt. The sauce should be thick and glossy. Set to one side.

To make the churros mix together the flour and baking powder then stir in the melted butter, make a well in the centre and mix in the boiling water until a thick dough forms. Leave the mixture to one side and either fill a large pan one third of the way up with the oil or preheat a mini deep fat fryer. To test the oil drop in a tiny piece of bread, it should brown within about 20-30 seconds if the oil is at the right temperature. When you reach this stage, transfer the churros mixture into a piping bag fitted with a star-like nozzle. Pipe the mixture straight into the hot oil, pulling the bag upwards to let the mixture fall into the oil. Fry for about 2-3 minutes, or until floating and golden brown. Let the churros rest on a paper towel to remove the excess oil, before rolling in the cinnamon sugar and serving with the fiery chocolate sauce. Although the sauce on a whole has the hum of the chilli, it’s quite fun coming across a seed and truly getting the kick.

Leave a Reply

