Recipe: Vegan Mayonnaise

Standard

I think everyone should make mayonnaise at home at least once, it’s not difficult as long as you’re patient, and I think people who like mayonnaise should see just how much oil goes into making it. (It’s scary!) Mayonnaise is vegetarian, of course, but not vegan because of the egg. I’d heard of vegan mayonnaise, usually the Vegenaise brand, from online references. I spotted a jar in my local health-food shop, looked at the price, winced and put it back on the shelf. I knew there had to be a way to make it at home. Yes, I am turning into my mother, thank you for asking.

After looking through various online recipes I came across this one, which appealed because it had simple ingredients and simpler instructions.

Translated into UK measurements it’s as follows:

Ingredients
270ml rapeseed oil
120ml soy milk
1/4 tsp cider or wine vinegar
1/4 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tbsp lemon juice
1/4 tsp mustard

Put the ingredients into a blender and blend until thickened.

Vegan Mayonnaise

I only have a stick blender and I have to admit defeat about getting this to thicken. I could not get it to the proper wobble of mayonnaise. I did, however, get it to a reasonable salad cream thickness. It also, to me, tasted more like salad cream than classic mayonnaise. It also didn’t taste particularly fake. I think trading standards would be after you if you tried to sell it as mayonnaise, but it makes a very acceptable salad cream/dressing. I’ll be making it again.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Coronation Chickpea Salad « Two Fat Vegetarians

Leave a Reply

