Recipe: Asian Spiced Coleslaw

Standard

I think I must have been traumatised by coleslaw when I was younger because I never think to make it for myself. Or maybe it’s the dire ready-made versions in supermarket chiller cabinets all cabbage swimming in a sour excuse for a dressing. That was a problem, because when I was trying some mushroom tikka recipes I knew I needed a cold, crunchy vegetable side-dish to go with them. So I googled ‘Indian Coleslaw’ and put together some of the ideas I found there.

This is a great side salad. It’s sweet and tangy, crunchy with a subtle spicing and the mint just lifts it on to another level. I’m going to be making this a lot more often, probably whenever I make a curry.

Indian coleslaw photo DSCN0643_zpse684bdbd.jpg

Ingredients
1/2 small drumhead cabbage, finely shredded
1 medium carrot, grated
1 red onion, finely sliced
2 tbsp chopped fresh mint
1/2 red chilli, deseeded and finely sliced
1 lemon, juiced
1 tsp sugar
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp black mustard seeds

Put the vegetables, mint, chilli, lemon juice and sugar in a bowl.
Heat the oil in a small frying pan and add the cumin and mustard seeds.
When the mustard seeds start to pop, remove from the heat and pour over the coleslaw.
Toss the coleslaw until all the ingredients are thoroughly mixed and coated with the dressing.
Leave to stand for 30-60 minutes.

Serves 4 as an accompaniment

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Tikka Mushrooms | Two Fat Vegetarians

Leave a Reply

