Recipe: Creamy Cauliflower Soup

Standard

Every so often you come across a recipe idea that sounds so bonkers you have to try it. Indeed, one of these days I hope to convert the food blogging universe to my baked beans and sweetcorn recipe (really it’s great!). This recipe for cauliflower soup is one of those. I mean the ingredients list consists of onions and cauliflower, no stock, no seasoning beyond salt and pepper. That’s a disaster. Or it’s a work of genius.

I had to try it.

The good news it’s a really easy recipe. The bad news is that it’s really frustrating because every instinct in me wanted to add something to it. Nutmeg, or parsley, or lemon juice. Something. ANYTHING! I had to go and sit on my hands in the living room so I didn’t weaken and fiddle with the recipe.

And I’m very glad I didn’t. This soup has great, delicate flavour. And a wonderfully creamy texture. You won’t believe there’s no cream in this.

I can’t wait to make this again. But I know I’m going to add something – a couple of rasps of nutmeg, a squeeze of lemon juice, some smoked salt – and it won’t improve it!

Cauliflower Soup photo DSCN0705_zpsd9665f44.jpg

Ingredients
1 onion, finely sliced
1 medium cauliflower, chopped into pieces

Soften the onions in a little oil until they are translucent but not coloured.
Add the cauliflower to the pan.
Cover with 650ml of water.
Bring to the boil, cover and simmer gently for 30 minutes.
Take off the heat and blend to a smooth consistency.
Season with salt and (white) pepper.

Serves 2

One response »

Leave a Reply

