Linda’s spicy potatoes

Standard

I could just about do without rice (wot, no risotto? Eek!), probably manage OK without pasta, but no potatoes would be the end of the world. You are looking at the woman who survived on mashed potato and assorted vegetables for six months when I went down with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome about 15 years ago. And the search continues for the ultimate mashed potatoes …

So there was no contest when Anth’s and my domestic goddess friend Linda offered her spicy potatoes as an accompaniment to both an Indian feast (her hubby’s not a big fan of rice) and stuffed peppers.

And they went brilliantly with both. I adore Indian food and would probably eat it every day, given the chance, but I’ve always been a tad underwhelmed by the bland potatoes arriving buried in spinach that you get in restaurants. But the spices here make the difference. And as for the amounts, adapt according to your taste.

spices

Ingredients
Potatoes
Garlic
Cumin
Garam masala
Paprika
Freshly ground black pepper
Ground sea salt

Parboil the potatoes and dice them.

Fry a couple of cloves of chopped garlic in some olive oil, add the spices and stir on the heat until they’re all mixed and bubbling slightly.

Add the potatoes, stir well to coat them in the spices, then fry for a couple of minutes until they’re browned and cooked right through.

potatoes

2 responses »

  1. I adore potatoes too, and this recipe* seems easy and tasty. Unfortunately I have problems with garlic burning – stuck with an old electric cooker that doesn’t provide fingertip heat adjustment – I’d probably dump both garlic and spices in together. Still yummy.

    *looking back 6 months for spring/summery ones

    • Sue, I’ve got an old gas cooker which has two settings – off or blast furnace! So I have to watch garlic like a hawk. I think you could easily chuck it in with the spices. I have a feeling that’s what I did last time I made it!

Leave a Reply

