Live Below the Line: Day 2

Standard

The second day. I had a digestive biscuit before I left for the train this morning. It helped me not feel totally starving before I got to the office.

I feel there’s something missing in my life, though. I’m used to having food to look forward to, little islands of pleasure dotted throughout the day. That isn’t here this week. The food is edible, but it doesn’t make me look forward to it with joy. Lunch is difficult. I have an upset stomach that’s lingered from the weekend. I’m sure a pile of beans and vegetables isn’t helping it calm down any. I bought some Colpermin on the way in to work. A pack was £5.99. If I was doing this for real, I’d have to choose between eating and taking medicine. I’m so glad I don’t have to make that choice.

On to the food. I thought I’d better give the recipe for the pasta sauce I made last night – just so you can avoid making it by accident.

The original idea for my dinners was to have the full kilo bag of mixed vegetables with two tins of tomatoes and two tins of kidney beans, all blended to make a pasta sauce. After the bean and vegetable curry from lunch, I found I couldn’t face beans again and I knew the full bag of vegetables was going to be way to much. I cut the amount of veg by a third and blended with the tomatoes, it makes a decent consistency for a pasta sauce. I wish I could say the same about the taste. It’s very watery. If I did it again, I’d buy another tin of tomatoes and let it reduce down before adding the vegetables. It also really needs garlic and black pepper. Even underflavoured it’s less scary that the lunchtime curry.

 photo IMG_0376_zpsd8241fda.jpg

Ingredients
2 tins plum tomatoes 62p
300g frozen mixed veg 25p
2 vegetable stock cubes 3p

Put the tomatoes, stock cubes and mixed vegetables in a saucepan.
Bring to the heat and simmer for 10 minutes.
Blend until smooth.
Taste and wish you had garlic, tomato puree and black pepper as a minimum.
Total cost 90p. Cost per serving 18p.

Serve over spaghetti. 4p

This isn’t just about food, though. In all of this I don’t want to lose sight of the cause I’m supporting. This is a video about what The Hunger Project do and how they approach things.

And this is my page if you want to donate.

4 responses »

    • It’s horrific. But that kind of trade-off is being made all the time. This challenge is making me realise how lucky I am.

  1. Wow just spotted this – great resource Anthea, hope you don’t mind if we borrow some recipes for our blog. Best, Mark – thehungerproject.org.uk

Leave a Reply

