Recipe: Tofu and Sweetcorn Soup

Standard

I’ve already expressed a love for chinese hot and sour soup. In my pre-veggie days, my second favourite chinese soup was chicken and sweetcorn. It’s one of the great comfort soups of the world I think. The problem was, I could never recreate it properly. I tried different combinations of garlic and ginger, different levels of smoothness from blending the sweetcorn – none of it worked. None of it tasted right. Then I stumbled on a magazine recipe that gave away the secret. I’ve lost the magazine cutting now, but I’ve retained the secret ingredient.

Let me whisper it to you.

Tinned, creamed sweetcorn.

That’s it. Forget complicated spicing or other combinations. The flavour and texture is based on creamed sweetcorn. I don’t know how ‘authentic’ take-away sweetcorn soup is, but now you can make the authentic inauthentic version for yourself anytime you please.

Tofu & sweetcorn soup photo DSCN0856_zpsa5df693d.jpg

Ingredients
100g tofu, cut into small cubes
2 tbsp soy sauce

418g tin creamed sweetcorn
425ml vegetable stock
1 tbsp grated ginger
50g frozen sweetcorn

sesame oil

Put the tofu in a bowl and mix with the soy sauce. Leave to marinade for at least half an hour.
Heat the creamed sweetcorn, vegetable stock, ginger and frozen sweetcorn in a pan and simmer for 5 minutes.
Add the tofu and its marinade and simmer for another 10 minutes.
Season with salt and pepper.
Serve with some sesame oil drizzled over.

Serves 2 as a light lunch

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Tofu and Sweetcorn Soup | Skipping Stars Productions LLC

Leave a Reply

