Recipe: Easy, Spicy Barbecue Sauce

Standard

The sun is out, it’s barbecue season. It’s the time when you can’t walk down a street on a weekend without being assaulted by the smell of some hapless, dead animal being charcoaled to an inch of its afterlife. It can be tough going for vegetarians as well. Friends who have watched you order vegetarian food in restaurants all year without commenting can suddenly develop an urge to wave their bottulism- sorry- burger in a bun under your nose.

However, I have a way of mitigating the whole situation. I have a great spicy, barbecue sauce that, if you take it along to a friend’s place, will do much to ease your path through the bbq nightmare.

I’ve based my recipe on one for Kansas City style sauce which calls for ketchup. I love ketchup but I didn’t really want to start a recipe with 250ml of it. I substituted passata instead. It also calls for 1 tablespoon of chilli powder. I think that’s going to make it a bit hot for most people’s taste, so I’ve suggested 1-3 tsp so you can get the heat you’re comfortable with. You can use any type of vinegar in this sauce, but I think it works best with good old malt vinegar and there aren’t many recipes where I’ll say that.

This is sweet, sour, smokey, hot and really moreish. The picture shows this on grilled tempeh, but it’ll transform the blandest of carbonised veggie burger or sausage. You can even share it with your meat-eating friends if you like!

barbecue sauce photo DSCN0869_zps9421b506.jpg

Ingredients
2 cloves garlic, crushed
250ml passata
4 tbsp malt vinegar
4 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp smoked paprika
1-3 tsp chilli powder, according to taste

Sweat the garlic in a little oil in a saucepan.
Add the rest of the ingredients and season with salt.
Simmer on a low heat for 15-20 minutes until it has reduced by half.
Let cool.

This will make about 150ml of sauce.

5 responses »

    • It may depend on the strength of your chilli powder as well. The recipe I took it from said it made a mild sauce. This is many things, but mild is not one of them!

      • Heh! I like fresh chilli in dishes (in moderation), but I don’t use the powdered stuff much. I wonder if paprika would work …

      • If you cut a chilli in half and used the bit nearer the end rather than the stalk I think that would work. Or a third depending on how hot your chillia are.

Leave a Reply

