Recipe: Baba Ganoush

Standard

I love hummus. I think that over the average year I must eat my bodyweight in it. I think I certainly do that by volume anyway. That puts me in line with a staggering 41% of Brits who have a pot of hummus in their fridge. So I’m a confirmed hummus addict.

But every so often I want to ring the changes a bit. And when I do, I often find myself making baba ganoush. It has the same flavourings as hummus (garlic, lemon and tahini) but is based around roasted aubergines rather than chickpeas. This makes it lighter and looser in texture with a slight smokey edge from the aubergines. It’s a definite dip rather than a spread. Most recipes I’ve seen use chopped parsley as a garnish. I prefer smoked paprika to enhance the smokey taste of the aubergines.

It’s a lovely dip to have with toasted pitta bread. It’s simple to make and I urge you to give it a try.

Baba Ganoush photo DSCN0886_zpsf7382b2d.jpg

Ingredients
2 aubergines
Juice of 1 lemon
2 garlic cloves
2 tbsp tahini paste
2-3 tbsp olive oil
smoked paprika for sprinkling

Roast the aubergines in an oven preheated to 200C for 30-40 minutes, until the skin is crackling and they feel soft to touch.
When the aubergines are cool enough to handle, split them open and scoop out the flesh into a food processor.
Add the lemon juice, garlic cloves, tahini paste and season with salt and pepper.
Blitz in the processor and add the olive oil. Depending on the water content of the aubergines you may need two or three tablespoon to achieve the right consistency.
When it is nicely smooth, spoon into a serving dish.
Serve with a sprinkling of smoked paprika and something tasty to scoop it up with!

6 responses »

    • Your recipe looks great. I have a version of guacamole made with peas rather than avocados. I’ll have to put it up here sometime.

Leave a Reply

