Recipe: Tofu Banh Mi

Standard

For the past year, banh mi (the Vietnamese sandwich) have been everywhere. I don’t think there’s been a newspaper or food magazine that hasn’t covered them so far. I had kind of pushed them aside in my mind as ‘just another food fad’, and anyway, all of the recipes I saw had meat in them. Then I saw a couple of recipes for ones with tofu and decided to give it a try.

Now I get it.

These are full-flavoured, chin dripping, fun, dirty street-food. Believe the hype – these are great.

Your basic banh mi recipe is a length of french bread, sliced as for a sandwich, some mayonnaise, a pickle, chilli and a protein source. (As an aside, I have found a vegan mayonnaise by Tiger Tiger in Sainsbury’s and it’s excellent.) I went with carrot pickle and fried tofu in a teriyaki-ish sauce.

Note that the photo is on kitchen paper. This is deliberate. You will probably need to mop up afterwards. I needed to change my t-shirt.

Banh mi photo DSCN0896_zps69d58e37.jpg

Ingredients
For the pickle:
1/2 carrot, grated
2 tbsp vinegar (cider, wine or rice)
2 tsp sugar

For the tofu:
200g tofu, sliced into long strips
1 tbsp rice wine (or dry sherry)
4 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp sugar

For the sandwich
1 baguette, halved and sliced in two
vegan mayonnaise
cucumber slices
1 spring onion, sliced
sprigs of fresh coriander
sweet chilli sauce

Put the carrot, vinegar and sugar in a bowl.
Mix well and set aside for about half an hour
Heat some oil in a pan.
Fry the tofu in it until it is browned on both sides.
Add the rice wine, soy and sugar.
Mix gently so that the tofu is coated in the sauce.
Let it bubble down until it is almost dry.
Spread some mayonnaise on one side of the bread.
Layer up the cucumber, tofu, pickled carrots and the rest of the ingredients, topping with a drizzle of chilli sauce.

Serves 2 Make sure you have plenty of napkins or kitchen roll to mop up as you eat.

7 responses »

    • I think tempeh would be brilliant in this. I can only find it in health-food shops so I don’t often use it or I would have tried it here.

  1. I really like the sound of this! I’ve found some slightly odd vegan mayo – the lemongrass one is to be avoided, but the garlic one isn’t bad. It’s not very runny, though.

Leave a Reply

