Recipe: Pepper Sandwich

Standard

I don’t know about you, but I rarely think about cooking something to go in a sandwich. Sandwiches are, for me, something that is made from cold ingredients and leftovers. But I was inspired by finding out there was such a thing as a Chicago Pepper and Egg Sandwich. It sounded unlikely coming from one of the big meat-packing cities of the USA, but apparently it is a thing.

Problem was, when I came to make it, I didn’t have any eggs to hand. But I didn’t let that stop me. This is a nice, juicy sandwich filling. If you wanted to make it more substantial you could spread some hummus on the bread before adding the fried peppers.

Peppers Sandwich photo DSCN0966_zps52ca03ec.jpg

Ingredients
2 peppers (mixed colours best), sliced
1 red onion, thinly sliced
1 clove garlic, crushed
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
1/2 lemon, juiced
1 baguette

Heat some oil in a frying pan and add the peppers and onion.
Cook gently on a low to medium heat until the peppers are softened and slightly blackened.
Add the garlic and the smoked paprika and cook through for another five minutes.
Season with salt and pepper.
Serve on a split baguette with a squirt of lemon juice over the top.

Serves 2

3 responses »

  1. Mmm smoked paprika and fried red onions peppers are sooo good! Actually this is virtually the same filling as we put in fajhitas – though I also sometimes add a can of kidney beans. I’ll have to try it in a baguette.

Leave a Reply

