Recipe: Carrot, Lentil and Coriander Soup

Standard

In the late 80’s I was living and working in London. It was my first job, I was living alone for the first time as well, cooking what I wanted to eat with no one to please but myself. I have to say, for an apprentice foodie, I did make some grim choices – boil in the bag fish with parsley sauce being one of the worst. But it wasn’t all bad. I came across the New Covent Garden Soup Company, who were one of the first to make ready-made gourmet soups – a world away from the tinned varieties I was used to. I remember their chicken and tarragon soup, but the one that blew me away was the carrot and coriander soup. I don’t think I’d had anything quite that exotic in my own kitchen before.

In fond memory of those times, here’s my take on it. I’ve added some lentils to give it a bit more body for autumn days. I’ve also changed out the normal lemon juice for lime juice, I think it goes better with the coriander and it adds a great lift to the flavours.

Carrot & lentil coriander soup photo DSCN0985_zpsfc974c7d.jpg

Ingredients
1 onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, chopped
500g carrots, roughly chopped
150g red lentils
1 tsp ground coriander
750 ml vegetable stock
3tbsp fresh coriander, chopped
Juice 1/2 lime

Sweat the onion and garlic in a little oil.
When the onions are translucent add the carrots, lentils, ground coriander and vegetable stock to the saucepan.
Simmer for 30 minutes, or until the lentils are cooked.
Add the fresh coriander and blend until smooth.
Season with salt and pepper.
Stir in the lime juice just before serving.

Serves 4

9 responses »

  1. I usually add potato to mine to add body, but actually I think lentils would be much better for texture – as well as being warm in colour. I’ll try it this way next time.

  2. The Covent garden carrot soup and their mushroom soup were both lovely! I remember making myself a bit sick eating a whole carton of the mushroom one, actually! It had tons of cream in. I’m too stingy to buy soup these days, though I make an exception for the Glorious skinny Thai carrot soup if it’s on sale. Mmm, soup.

Leave a Reply

