Recipe: Pasta with chargrilled peppers, pine nuts and feta

Standard

I’m a fairly unpicky vegetarian, but I do draw the line at sun-dried tomatoes. After all, who wants to eat shoe leather? At one point it was all you ever seemed to find on restaurant menus. Now goat’s cheese is the new black (and at least edible!)

So I adapted this recipe from one a friend used to make. Come to think of it, her version had broccoli in as well as sun-dried tomatoes. I love broccoli, but oddly enough, not with pasta very much. So I went off and started fiddling.

I’m always on the look-out for dryer pasta sauces, given I’m not fussed about creamy ones, and sometimes get a bit bored with tomato-based sauces.

I like peppers a lot. I was a lazy minx and used half a jar of chargrilled peppers that I happened to have in the cupboard. And some of the oil from them loosened up the final dish.

If you’re vegan, you could certainly put the broccoli back in and omit the feta.

Image

Method 

Serves 2

Clove of garlic, chopped finely

Small red chilli, chopped finely

Tbsp of toasted pine nuts

Chargrilled red and yellow peppers, cut into bite-sized chunks

Feta cheese

Black pepper

Penne pasta

 

Cook the pasta. Meanwhile, toast the pine nuts in a dry pan. Once they’re done, set them aside and add a dash of olive oil to the pan. Warm the garlic and red chilli through, but don’t let them colour. It’s up to you whether you warm the peppers through as well, or whether you use them straight from the jar. I tend to warm them slightly. Crumble the feta, then add everything to the pasta and mix well. Serve with plenty of black pepper.

8 responses »

  1. There’s a very nice vegan “feta” (it’s not much like actual feta, but it is really tasty!) one can make with almonds, garlic, rosemary, lemon juice and olive oil. Also works with cashews if your blender isn’t up to almonds.

    This vegan doesn’t much care for broccoli with pasta either!

    • Hee! Glad it’s just not me! I always think broccoli needs to be served with gravy!

      I’ll give that a go. I’ve cut right back on cheese to occasional feta and vegetarian parmesan. I think I’ve got all the ingredients in.

      • There should obviously be salt in there too, if you do want to try making almond feta. I think the original recipe was from vegetarian times if you do a search. The recipe also calls for it to be baked but it makes a nice cream cheese if you don’t cook it as well.

      • Thanks – I’ll have a poke around. Most vegan cheese you buy in the shops is the spawn of the devil, but this combination is all stuff I love and sounds yummy!

Leave a Reply

