Recipe: Parsnip and Carrot Rosti

Standard

I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with parsnips – I love them roasted, fried or boiled – I hate them mashed, pureed or souped. I think it’s a texture thing, something about a whole mouthful of soft parsnip makes me want to puke. One of my biggest culinary disappointments was when I made a big pan of curried parsnip and apple soup and couldn’t even eat a spoonful.

So I was really pleased to come across this recipe for spiced parsnip latkes. It got me thinking, if apple worked with spiced parsnip in soup, why not here? And why not a bit of carrot as well? I decided to call mine a rosti because I wanted to make a side-dish for two rather than starters/nibbles for several.

 photo DSCN1014_zps4d0f37dc.jpg

Ingredients
1 parsnip, grated
1 medium carrot, grated
1/2 small onion, finely sliced
1 small apple, grated
3 tbsp corn flour
1tsp curry powder

Add the ingredients to a bowl, season with salt and pepper and mix thoroughly.
Heat some oil in a small frying pan and when hot, spoon in the mixture.
Spread out until it covers the whole of the bottom of the pan.
Reduce the heat to medium
While the mixture is cooking, keep pushing it down in the pan so that it forms a solid cake.
Cook until the bottom is golden brown or caramelised to your taste.
Carefully slide a fish-slice under the cake and flip over to cook the other side. It doesn’t matter if it breaks up, just pat the pieces back down into place.
Cook until the new bottom is golden brown.

Serves 2 as a side to a nice stew or Serves 1 for lunch – some mango chutney would go well with it.

12 responses »

  1. I’m heartily in agreement about pureed parsnip, or parsnip soup, so sickly and gluey! Roasted they are perfect however. I also love potato rosti, and this idea of using the flavours of parsnip soup looks excellent, but without the vomity babyfood factor!

    • I’m glad it’s not just me! I really like this recipe – and easier than potato rosti because there’s no need to squeeze all the water out of the grated potato. I’m already thinking up variations in it.

  2. Pingback: Cilantro Carrots | Sweet on Cinnamon

Leave a Reply

