Recipe: Swiss Chard with Black-Eyed Beans

Standard

This is a recipe from my new favourite recipe book Veggiestan by Sally Butcher. Now, I will be posting a proper review of the book later on, but I wanted to try a recipe before I did so. It wasn’t going to be this one, to be honest, there’s a recipe for carrots and yellow split peas from Afghanistan I wanted to try. However, that takes two hours to cook and today, real life intervened, cutting down the time I had for cooking. This recipe uses black-eyed beans (or peas) which cook much quicker. And I had some swiss chard in the fridge, so this seemed an obvious choice.

The original recipe calls for a leek but I didn’t have one, so I substituted a sweet, red onion instead. This is a lovely recipe, I think any dark green leaf would work if you didn’t have swiss chard to hand. You could also substitute the pulse part as well – chickpeas would be nice here, I think.

Swiss chard black eyed beans photo DSCN1041_zps3c48636c.jpg

Ingredients
100g black-eyed beans
1 red onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
300g swiss chard, stalks finely shredded, leaves roughly chopped
1/4tsp ground nutmeg
1/2tsp chilli powder
1/2 small packet coriander, chopped
2tbsp tahini
200ml vegetable stock
lemon wedges to serve

Cook the beans in boiling water for about 40 minutes or until tender.
When they are nearly cooked, heat a generous glug of oil in a large pan.
Add the red onion to the oil and soften for a couple of minutes.
Then add the garlic.
Stir in the chard stalks and cook for a couple of minutes.
Add the chard leaves, the nutmeg, chilli powder and coriander. Stir for a couple of minutes.
Stir in the cooked beans.
Stir the stock into the tahini a little bit at a time, stirring to mix them together thoroughly.
Add to the pan, cover and simmer for about five minutes.
Season with salt and pepper.
Serve with lemon wedges to squeeze over.

Serves 2 as dinner with bread to mop up the juices

6 responses »

  1. Looks super! And Veggiestan sounds interesting too. What kind of bread would you include in the meal, any regionally appropriate ideas from the book? If I’m going to have bread as a feature with a meal, I sometimes like to bake myself. Oh, just a heads up, your links don’t seem to be working.

  2. I tried this but used spinach instead of chard (all I had) and it was fab with some Lebanese flatbread. The book has some mixed reviews in Amazon but the recipes you’ve posted are very nice

Leave a Reply

