Recipe: Courgette, Bean and Mangetout Salad

Standard

I bought a courgette this week because I feel I don’t eat enough of them even though I’m not that keen on them. I have had them before in salads, though and have quite enjoyed them. So I decided to have a try at my own recipe.

Courgette and mint are a classic combination, of course. If you’re adding mint, why not a bit of coriander as well (they go great together – try them on a curry sometime). As we’re heading eastwards, why not some lime and chilli as well? Add some beans to add substance and mangetout to add sweet crunch. And well, you’ve got a zingy, zesty salad!

This will serve 2 people as a light lunch, but I would serve it as a dinner party starter – the lime, chilli and mint will perk up any appetite! It would work well in bulk as a buffet salad, as well.

 photo DSCN1169_zps23dd6608.jpg

Ingredients
1 400g tin of cannellini beans, drained
1 courgette, grated
50g mangetout, sliced
2 birdseye chillis, chopped
Juice of 1 lime
1 tbsp mint, chopped
1 tbsp coriander, chopped
2 tbsp olive oil

Put all the ingredients into a big bowl and mix well together.
Season with salt.

Serves 4 as a starter

3 responses »

  1. When I first looked at the photo, I thought it was leek salad— but zucchini is such a delicious summer veggie, too. Sounds like a great recipe for hot weather!

Leave a Reply

