Recipe: Vegan lasagne

Standard

Please say hello to a special guest from Down Under this week! Our friend Julie Carter is a social worker with a serious book addiction and a love of all animals – and she’d rather not see them on her plate, thanks, hence the vegan diet. So, over to Julie …

Well, it looked like it was going to be a disaster, especially when the tin attacked my finger … Here is the basic stuff I used – not a recipe, just some ideas I had and I generally flew by the seat of my pants. I didn’t measure anything and just played it by ear and it wasn’t half bad. More of the sauces next time, though, I think. But it got the thumbs-up from my step-son who is a meativore and my husband who is also a vegetarian, so I was quite chuffed.

Julie's lasagne

LASAGNE
I went for the gluten-free fresh sheets of lasagne, which are soft and ready to cook, not the hard stuff in packets.

VEGGIES
Squash
Sweet potato
Pumpkin
Eggplant (aubergine)
Capsicum (peppers)
You can add any veggie you want. I sliced them all thinly and roasted them until they were browning and soft.

WHITE SAUCE
Vegan margarine
Gluten-free flour (I used it because I didn’t have any gluten-free cornflour, but it is just as effective)
Coconut cream (place in fridge so that it is all creamy – sometimes the tinned ones are still milky but putting them in the fridge hardens them)
Melt margarine and then mix flour to make a paste. Then add coconut cream until thick but still runny – do all of this whilst still on the stove.  

RED SAUCE
Basically this is a Bolognese sauce. I used garlic, olive oil, a jar of Dolmio (Garden Vegetables), lots of chopped-up olives and tinned lentils. I cooked it all for about 30 minutes until it was still runny but had boiled off.  

I layered the veggies evenly between each layer of lasagne sheets, pouring a little white sauce and red sauce between each layer. I poured the remaining white sauce over the top of the top sheet followed by the remaining Bolognese, and topped it with slices of fresh Italian tomatoes and vegan cheese. I cooked it until the sheets looked sagging and it was bubbling – about 30 minutes.

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

